recent 81 purchase - MAGAZINE IDENTIFICATION?

Posts about the Model 81~Woodsmaster~
rhighno

recent 81 purchase - MAGAZINE IDENTIFICATION?

Post by rhighno »

i am a newbie to this outstanding site and a recent proud owner of a model 81 woodmaster i have aquestion about the magazine that is in it it is detachable it is not flush with the trigger gaurd it has a button onthe back rib just below the trigger gaurd to detach like i said i just purchased it this week dies and brass comes tommorrow in 300 savage any help in identifying this magazine would be appreciated thanks
81police

Re: recent 81 purchase

Post by 81police »

rhighno,

Welcome to the springpole forums! Congrats on your first Model 81, if you're not careful it won't be your last :D

From your description it sounds like you may have a Krieger conversion. Check out the page below to see if it matches the characteristics of your rifle. If the page doesn't open click on the Model 8 banner picture at the top of this page and then on "Krieger Detachable Magazines".

http://thegreatmodel8.remingtonsociety.com/?page_id=563
Cam Woodall
Site Co-Administrator
rhighno

Post by rhighno »

my gun has not beeen modified the release button is on the magazine i read that link i bought the gun at gander mt it did not have the magazine in it when she brought it from the back of the store i knew it was different but not be ing real familiar with these ididn't question it the button is just below the trigger guard on the magazine
81police

Post by 81police »

I'm kinda stumped on this one honestly. If you can post pictures of the rifle or email them to me I'd be happy to investigate this a little further.
Cam Woodall
Site Co-Administrator
rhighno

Post by rhighno »

i took some pictures this morning i will try and post them this weekend i did notice this magazine has no spring on the side like most of the others i have seen no markings of any kind either as they say apicture is worth a thousand words
81police