reloading question for the 81 in 300savage

Posts about the Model 81~Woodsmaster~
wayno

reloading question for the 81 in 300savage

Post by wayno »

i am looking for some loads for the above which are as low in recoil as possible.

of course, the load needs to activate the action, and be able to drop a deer around 100 yds, or slightly more.

i am thinking 125-150 grains for the bullet, but i have zero experience with the powder load.

thanks for any help.
Sarge756

Re: reloading question for the 81 in 300savage

Post by Sarge756 »

Wayno,
I invite you to review the previous posts on reloading for the 8/81 .Not knowing your experience with reloading other than you saying "zero experience with powder charges" I suggest you start like most of us did at square one.Get a good reloading manual such as the NRA Reloading manual and study it not read it.Get some old handbooks such as Hornady and Lyman and research the loads for your 300Sav. These books are available on Fleabay and other auction sites often.
Recoil like most things is different for different folks.Ive seen people shoot a 300magnum and not flinch and another guy cringes when he shoots a 30-30. If your desire for low recoil is based on your`s or another`s stature,gender,age etc. another option may be a slip on recoil pad and a gel pack on the shoulder with a heavy jacket. I shoot the hardest kicking gun in my collection from time to time (30 Express Remington in 30-06).When I show up at the camp with it I come prepared with the items I mentioned.Had one of my friends ask me, "does it really kick that hard". I let him try 3 rounds off the bench unprotected.All he cold say was "LORD!!".