Hamer special

Posts about the Model 8
Hibby83

Hamer special

Post by Hibby83 »

I had the joy of going through the Texas Ranger Hall Of Fame & Museum today.

It's a very cool place of history and having the opportunity to see my favorite type of rifle along with others firearms I favor.

What a beautiful rifle!
Attachments
20210725_232159.jpg
20210725_232159.jpg (551.67 KiB) Viewed 3475 times
81police

Re: Hamer special

Post by 81police »

A work of art!!
Cam Woodall
Site Co-Administrator
Roger

Post by Roger »

So what caliber was that particular Hamer rifle? I’ve heard and read different things over the years. It may have even been addressed in Henwoods book.
Thanks for your time
Roger
Roger
raw4555@gmail.com
Hibby83

Post by Hibby83 »

Good morning Roger.

The little write up beside it said 30 cal.
Hibby83

Post by Hibby83 »

Here is the small write up.

I believe the caliber designation. I'm no expert but I don't have confidence in the last part of the write up "my opinion".
Attachments
20210726_080102.jpg
20210726_080102.jpg (227.35 KiB) Viewed 3457 times
Roger

Post by Roger »

Thank you very much for the reply. From the many varied reports, It’s very difficult to know what really happened and what guns were used.But I’m sure that the high grade m8 probably wasn’t there. However, Dr. Henry Sheehy loaned his m8 to deputy Prentiss Oakley and was more than likely at the shootout(ambush).
Thanks for your time
Roger
Roger
raw4555@gmail.com
cantgrowup

Post by cantgrowup »

There were several errors in the placards related to Bonnie and Clyde history when I went to the Waco "Texas Rangers Museum" in 2016. For example, there was a Winchester Model 1910 .401 rifle (Cat. No. 2030) that said "This Winchester .401 caliber shotgun [sic] was taken from Ray Hamilton in Grayson County." I pointed that out to the curator that it wasn't a "shotgun", but don't know if they ever corrected it.