Reloading for 30 Remington.

Posts about the Model 8
aumudrun

Reloading for 30 Remington.

Post by aumudrun »

Does anyone have some good reloads for the 30 Remington?
45guy

Re: Reloading for 30 Remington.

Post by 45guy »

Reloads or load data? I'm fixing to crank out 100 rounds this weekend.
aumudrun

Post by aumudrun »

I was wondering if anyone had some favorite or accurate loads. I use the 30-30 data. So far I have loaded 170 gr bullets with 32 gr 4831. Its my first load.
Wildgoose

Post by Wildgoose »

Like you I am just getting started on the .30Rem. I am going to stick with 150 grain Hornady RN and BLC(2) powder. I have had good luck with this combination in 30-30 lever guns in the past. So far I have only test shot my 31 Woodsmaster with the open sights to be sure it was going to function OK. That done I am now going to start up from the 33 grian load I test fired with. I am also going to have to add a scope, just cant see the factory sights well enough for good bench shooting to test loads. My rifle came with a scope mount already attached so its an option without having to modify an untouched gun. I agree with the guys that feel leaving the orginal rifles undrilled is best as there are plenty of them around that have been. Must say I am really enjoying playing with this old gun. As the tesing goes along I will post what I find out. The rifle was minute of deer right off the bat but it will be fun to see if it gets any better with a load that has more speed.
aumudrun

Post by aumudrun »

What a small world it is. I also love to shoot my Model 8, but am having trouble with the sights. (They dont seem to be able to focus.) I have a tang sight comming to see if that helps focus. Other wise I will have to go to optics.
:ugeek: Where would one get 150 gr round nose bullets?.
Wildgoose

Post by Wildgoose »