Jack's latest & greatest

Place your vintage Remington autoloader photo's here..
81police

Jack's latest & greatest

Post by 81police »

Posting this for JACK1653

I'll let him add all the details and particulars!
Attachments
jack's newbie.jpg
jack's newbie.jpg (787.01 KiB) Viewed 8442 times
Cam Woodall
Site Co-Administrator
jack1653

Re: Jack's latest & greatest

Post by jack1653 »

Hey Fellas,

I want to thank 81police for posting the pictures for me.

I have been buying these rifles for the past 30 years and every once in awhile you get a real keeper. This rifle is one of those. I called 81police immediately after opening the package to share my enthusiasm. I was as giddy as a kid at Christmas.

This is by far the best rifle as far as condition that I have ever seen or purchased. The ironic part about this acquisition is that it sold for a very reasonable price and not indicative for a rifle is such a pristine condition. It just goes to show that every once in a while we can still find a diamond among the lumps of coal. It has been pointed out by forum members that this rifle is probably a refinish and a re-blue and if it is is it has been done very well.

Some of you may have seen the Gun Broker listing and it had just one picture, not very good, and a very brief description. I wanted the rifle because of the old round knob pistol grip and for no other reason. I wish that my pictures were of a higher quality because they do not do the rifle justice. There are no metal blemishes and no wood blemishes. I have written a letter to the seller to try and get more information about the rifle but have had no response. It makes me wonder where the rifle has been stored for the past 96 years.

The rifle has a 1917 serial number and is in 32 caliber. It has the UMC stampings and butt plate. The wood has a warm appearance and is a satin type hand rubbed finished.

Thank you for allowing me to boast about a very beautiful rifle.

Regards,

jack1653