bolt won't release: I am a true noob!

Information on Malfunctions and Care of your Model 8 & 81
Adam Lee

bolt won't release: I am a true noob!

Post by Adam Lee »

Folks,

I am honestly going to admit to my true noob status up front. Roger can certainly confirm this for everyone!

So, here's why I am admitting that I am a Model 8 noob today. As excited as I was to receive the old gun from Roger, I could not help myself from beginning to strip it down once I had the time. I really dig the simple enough way these rifles break down into two "halves" for transport and maintenance.

Here is the status: I broke down and reassembled the barrel to the receiver twice, mainly because I was dealing with my initial "irrational exuberance" of the system, with no problem. The third or so time I was fiddling around, I locked the bolt firmly into the rearmost position before I removed the barrel. Now, the barrel lock/bolt release does not allow the bolt to release or barrel to lock up. Even with the combined three-hand strategy of pushing down on the mag follower, bolt release lever, and easing the bolt handle back & forth it won't move.

Essentially, I just need to get some wisdom on returning the bolt to battery or forward position, so that I can put the barrel on once again.
Did I "overtravel" the bolt carrier too far back? I don't get what secret handshake I am missing here. Looked over the video guides and the disassembly photo albums Cam has linked here.

I really think I just don't have the right "English" on my three-handed (lol) bolt release strategy. What say ye?

Thanks, guys. I am just a noob, plain and simple.

Adam
I am a regular joe, consisting of 78% coffee, 12% hot air, 9% organizational abilities, and 1% luck.
ROBOPUMP

Re: bolt won't release: I am a true noob!

Post by ROBOPUMP »

Put the barrel back on and everything should work just fine.
81police

Post by 81police »

Adam,