Greetings from Virginia

New Member Introductions
RedFlannelCap

Greetings from Virginia

Post by RedFlannelCap »

I’m pretty new to Model 8’s and brand new to any online forum, but I wanted to introduce myself. A few years ago I bought my first Model 81, and because of this forum, now I’ve got two of them! Both are Early Type FBI rifles but they were not marked as such when I bought them- I figured that out from this website. Pictured below, they are 1941 and 1942 manufacture. They both shoot great with handloads and are solid 2 moa guns. There are a couple of curious differences between them that I’ll ask about as I get more familiar with the forum.

From pictures I always thought the Model 8 was fascinating- in my mind’s eye it was always in grainy black & white photos of deer camp, with smiling faces gathered around the day’s harvest. I had never actually seen or handled one until I bought the first one I ever saw, and now because of this forum, I also bought the second one I ever saw. From reading the various forums here, I think I’ll fit right in!

My other shooting interests are competitive highpower rifle- I have shot at Camp Perry OH many times. More recently I’ve taken up skeet as a lightweight, more social alternative where you can more easily bring newbies along.

Anyway, that’s my story. Thanks for publishing such a great website I’m looking forward to being a part of it.

Merry Christmas to all!
Attachments
2813E56B-2805-49EE-A586-A06A13659274.jpeg
2813E56B-2805-49EE-A586-A06A13659274.jpeg (555.18 KiB) Viewed 4091 times
Phyrbird

Re: Greetings from Virginia

Post by Phyrbird »

You Rascal :!: :!: :!: :evil: Two FBIs, just a few years apart :mrgreen:
Only ones I've seen was at Jack's, a couple online that should have been mine, but others wanted them more of course.