New Member with a Model 81

New Member Introductions
Fred

New Member with a Model 81

Post by Fred »

Hello everyone! I recently picked up a scoped late model 81 in .35 Remington after becoming frustrated with the cost and lead times of custom .35 Rem T/C Contender barrels. For the price of a T/C barrel delivered later, I could have an entirely new rifle now, so here I am. I found the long-recoil action a neat mechanism relative to what's available on today's market and since I mooonlight as a machinist, I'm a sucker for interesting clockwork.

Would it be a safe bet that no one will cry, "foul" if I further modify an already modified M-81? If being drilled for a scope mount virtually negates its collector value then I'll sleep well filling the holes with weld, refinishing it and either installing a reflex sight or a pistol scope down the barrel jacket a ways. I'm hoping that the accuracy with a scope is better than I'm anticipating with the sights floating somewhat independent of the barrel. I still need to do a teardown and verify it's safe to shoot.

I reload and wanted to get into casting too and figured that this would be a different gun and cartridge on the firing line at my local silhouette matches. If it's a shooter then I'll try and fill a freezer with porkchops when I get the chance.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to learning more here and sharing my little project. I'll post a picture when I get time.

Thank you.
Hardrada55

Re: New Member with a Model 81

Post by Hardrada55 »

Hey Fred, Welcome to the forum! I'm sure your latest acquisition will surely bring some interesting comments on the firing line. Good Luck! and let us see some pix soon. W
...the right of citizens to bear arms is just one more guarantee against arbitrary government, one more safeguard against the tyranny which now appears remote in America..."
- Hubert H. Humphrey, "Gun" magazine, Feb. '60
jack1653

Post by jack1653 »

Hey Fred,