New TX Model 81 Member

New Member Introductions
tx81

New TX Model 81 Member

Post by tx81 »

Hi,

My name is Randy and I am new to the Model 8/81 Forum.

I inherited my model 81 several years ago. The Nov 49 model (.300 Savage) went to my uncle after my grandfather passed away, mainly due to the fact that I was in the Army and too many things 'disappeared' during military moves. Looking back, I see that decision to be a wise one.

I have several rifles, most newer, a couple older than the model 81, so this year was the first year that I seriously hunted with it. I now know why the model 81 was one of my grandfather's deer hunting rifles. In fact, one of the results is pictured in the "Hunting" section of this forum website.

While zeroing the 'original' Weaver 4x scope, I discovered the .300 Savage had more than just a little bit of recoil. That led me to add a slip-on Limb Saver recoil pad and that's the only addition I have made to the rifle's appearance. I do have one question - can any recommend a product and method for touching up the original bluing? There are a couple of spots on the 81's receiver that I would like to get taken care of before things get any worse. In the mean time, I do try to keep the receiver clean and oiled to reduce the effects of weather and other conditions.
DWalt

Re: New TX Model 81 Member

Post by DWalt »

By "Spots" do you mean places where the bluing has worn or are there spots of rust? If rust, I'd recommend rubbing those spots with a cloth wet with light oil or Hoppe's #9 to remove most of it, then leave it alone. Otherwise, you will make it worse. You might also try using an abrasive rubber ink eraser carefully. If the bluing's worn in spots, there are a lots of cold bluing brands out there, and all seem to be more or less equal in effectiveness. I use Birchwood Casey. Follow label directions. Or you could just not use cold bluing and leave it alone. Cold bluing coverage doesn't last long under use, if it's handled a lot.