Newbie here

Ask about your Model 8 & 81
mainejohn

Newbie here

Post by mainejohn »

Hi I am new here, i just put my first model 8 on layaway, hopefully get it next week. its in 32 rem, can i still get ammo for it?
imfuncity

Re: .32 rem

Post by imfuncity »

Welcome, we do try to enjoy ourselves, the old hump backs, and helping folks get into our little world.

As to the .32 Rem cartridge (rimless for your M8) - Yes and No. Don't you hate that? The cartridge is obsolete and discontinued but there is plenty of information online and here on the forum regarding reloading. I have also had luck finding it at gun shows. The best price I found is at Reed's Ammunition & Research, plus Ron is a nice guy to deal with.
Though defensive violence will always be “a sad necessity” in the eyes of men of principle, it would be still more unfortunate if wrongdoers should dominate just men. - St. Augustine
81police

Re: Newbie here

Post by 81police »

mainejohn,

welcome to the website, we're glad to have you! You may also want to look at Old Western Scrounger for modern reloaded ammunition too.
Cam Woodall
Site Co-Administrator
mainejohn

Post by mainejohn »

thanks for the tips. i just checked the serial number of my model 8 and it is 9115. so i think its made in 1908. so super clean. would like to find a tang sight for it.
imfuncity

Post by imfuncity »

Not mine, just came across it:
EBay #150509752721 NIB Not a tang but receiver sight, no drilling necessary, has the mounting screw - they don't come any nicer then this; plus the guy is sortof local to you, Turner, ME. I actually prefer this style over the tang.
Though defensive violence will always be “a sad necessity” in the eyes of men of principle, it would be still more unfortunate if wrongdoers should dominate just men. - St. Augustine
81police

Post by 81police »

imfuncity wrote:Not mine, just came across it: